A SENSE OF LOFOTEN…

1-11-2

 

 

For those of you who have followed my blog for a while, you might remember my approach into the world of architecture. This has been an interesting as well as an inspirational theme to work with. Actually I think its the most rewarding theme I’ve ever worked with! -and as a result of that my blog has been severely neglected I am afraid ūüė¶¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† I have somehow felt that I had not found what I was looking for in my art, you know the secure feeling of being home, the feeling of knowing that¬†this is what I want to keep doing. So now I’m creating new paintings with the same theme, and they all turn out so differently. It’s almost like building with Lego again he-he!

I have always kept nature as a part of my art and soul, as I grew up surrounded with spectacular scenery here in Geiranger, Norway. But the city is close to my heart as well, those tall buildings are always fascinating with their grand designs and secret contents. As I’ve mentioned before they have a lot in common, the mountains, the buildings and the cities themselves. All protective, adventures, exciting, beautiful, even scary and big and always changing with¬† light,weather,season,colors, location…..even company!

So I have played around with this, used the buildings as sculptures, kind of land art.  Some of them I have put into remote places where they do not belong. On the other hand,  If you see the elements for what they are, as buildings not sculptures, you might also start questioning why they are there..what is going on?

The colors are always my first decision, they kind of set the mood and the rest will follow…

As before I like to paint small format in series, these are 6″x6″ or 15×15 cm. By the time a series has been done, a name of a place or a city has popped into my mind. It might not be a place I have ever been to, or any further comparison at all for that matter, but still my expression or my sense of the place has transformed onto the canvas. I have named these paintings for Lofoten, a group of beautiful small islands, sparsely populated, south of Troms√ł, northern Norway.

Hope you will enjoy ūüôā¬†¬†¬† -and more will follow soon, I promise!

If you have any questions, or would like to purchase a piece of my art, please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail or leave a comment below, Thank You.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

artWIRTH

musings on the cultural goings on of the New York art world

Nirus masalamagic

Indisk mat på norske fat - lær å trylle med krydder!

Niklas Granqvist

Art by Niklas Granqvist

e MORFES

art design & oddities

ChinGum

A web blog of amazing articles and Pictures.

The Official Blog of Park West Gallery

Experience fine art and the artists who create it, on land and at sea.

Kayla L. Cloonan

Mixed Media Artist

cyprusscene

Daily News of Life and times in North Cyprus goes around the world

Filippa Levemarks Blog

Blogging from my artstudio in Göteborg, Sweden

jbrennanart

Justin Brennan Art

PAMelvin Fine Art

Original artwork and prints

rigmover

I Travel, I Take Photos

WILDLIFE PHOTOGRAPHY

Wildlife and Nature Photography by Marco Pesaresi

